Intermediate GNU Make Tutorial

When I was just starting to use GNU MAKE, I was frustrated out of my mind, trying to learn how to set up an efficient makefile for my small school project.

The tutorials I found were either basic, or too in-depth. I found no help for a novice user. Eventually, I dug into the manual and spent a number of hours figuring out how to do what I wanted. Then I made this video, which gives a few hints on how to do some automation in your makefile, without using crazy wizard magic.

** Disclaimer: **
Please remember that this is not a bullet proof solution. After all, a novice came up with it. Nevertheless it worked fine for my small school assignment.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Vittles for Developing Node.js Apps in Docker

This is a quick draft. I don’t have much time to write tonight, but I wanted to make a note of these things: I work with boot2docker on OS X currently. I decided to avoid the pain of NFS mounts / volumes etc that I would normally want to... Continue →