What on Earth, CSS?

Css can be a real bummer. But learning the specific rules helps.
Here’s a little trick to help with the nth-of-type selector:

Say you have markup that looks something like this (haml)

.wrapper
    .bob
    .entry
        one
    .entry
        two
    .entry
        three

It makes sense to me that: div.entry:nth-of-type(1) would select the div that says “one”. In reality, it won’t select anything, since .bob is the first child of .wapper (the parent of all of the divs). I won’t rehash the rules here, since Chris Coyier did such a smashing job with his blog post..

A trick to help this work in a more expected way is to wrap those .entrys into their own parent:

.wrapper
    .bob
    .entries
        .entry
            one
        .entry
            two
        .entry
            three

And then the div with “one” will be selected.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Vittles for Developing Node.js Apps in Docker

This is a quick draft. I don’t have much time to write tonight, but I wanted to make a note of these things: I work with boot2docker on OS X currently. I decided to avoid the pain of NFS mounts / volumes etc that I would normally want to... Continue →